Auto Mechanic Schools in Wichita, KS

Career counselors advise that mechanics with proper accreditation have higher wages and better employment prospects. According to the May 2013 report from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), the non-metropolitan areas of Kansas had the second highest employment of auto mechanics and technicians in the U.S. The Wichita Area Tech College (WATC) in Wichita conveniently offers the courses needed to obtain proper accreditation.

How to Get Certified in Wichita

auto mechanic image1The WATC offers a two-year degree of associate of applied science (AAS) and technician certification (TC) in Auto Service Technology. Other automotive careers at the college include Auto Collision Repair and Automotive Transmissions/Transaxle. Through distance learning, the Kansas State University has a Bachelor of Science degree in Technology Management for students who obtained the AAS degree in Automotive Technology program at the Metropolitan Community College. Generally, these graduates work in management positions as well as doing repairs and maintenance and can demand higher salaries.

Salaries for Auto Mechanic Jobs in Wichita

In the May 2013 report from the BLS, the annual mean wage for Kansas auto mechanics and technicians was about $38,740. This is slightly higher than the national average of $35,930. The bureau found that Wichita wages of $38,630 were comparable to the Kansas average. They also advise that the expected job growth rate in Kansas is lower than the estimated national rate, but the rate for the Wichita area is higher than the predicted national or state growth rate.

Matching School Ads
  • Pursue Your Passion At UTI And Get State-Of-The-Industry Training!


  • Automotive Technology
  • Diesel
  • And more...
Locations:  Sacramento

Get a hands-on education at Lincoln Tech. Designed for today’s tough job market, our in-depth programs cover many fields including: Health Sciences, Business and Information Technology, Hospitality, Automotive Technology, HVAC Technology and Electrical Systems Technology. Financial Aid is available for those who qualify. Programs vary by campus.


  • Automotive Technology
  • Diesel Technology
  • Collision Repair and Refinishing
Locations:  Denver
  • Looking for an Online IT Degree Program That May Improve Your Career Options?
  • Can Help You Match Your Educational Goals With Your Desired Career.
  • Whether You Are Looking to Earn a Degree Online, or Study at a Nearby Campus, This Is The Place to Connect With a College That May Be Ideal for You.
  • Browse Through Our List Of Online Colleges and Traditional Schools to Determine Potential Places to Earn a Degree NOW!


    Locations:  Atlanta

    100% Online & No Standardized Testing

    We are committed to helping you achieve your goals and complete your degree as quickly as possible.


      List of Auto Mechanic Programs in Kansas

      Although only the Wichita Area Tech College covers the metropolitan area, other areas of the state have educational institutes that offer degrees or certifications. Contact the individual schools to learn if they offer other certifications, such as the Daimler Chrysler CAP, Ford ASSET, GM ASEP, Toyota T-TEN or others. Here are other schools in the state:
      Arkansas City: Cowley County Community College
      Atchison: Northeast Kansas Technical College
      Beloit: North Central Kansas Technical College
      Coffeyville: Coffeyville Community College
      Columbus: Coffeyville C. C.-Columbus Technical Campus
      El Dorado: Butler County Community College
      Emporia: Flint Hills Technical College
      Garden City: Garden City Community College
      Goodland: Northwest Kansas Technical College
      Great Bend: Barton County Community College
      Kansas City: Kansas City Kansas ATS
      Liberal: Southwest Kansas Technical School
      Overland Park: Johnson County Community College
      Pittsburg: Pittsburg State University
      Pratt: Pratt Community College
      Salina: Salina Area Technical School